Review & Excerpt – Stalemate by Lisa Suzanne

 

My Review – 4.5 Stars

This was a fun, light read, perfect for lounging poolside or in a hammock. While there was a bit of angst and heavier moments, you’ll find yourself smiling through most of it.

I absolutely adored Axel and Emme! These two were the perfect match and seriously hot together. I loved the realness of their relationship and love story. I always love it when the guy is the one fighting for more—the white picket fence, marriage, family. Axel wanted it all! And he was willing to fight to get it with Emme.

I spent the majority of this book smiling. Axel is so incredibly sweet and sexy. I loved their playful banter, Emme’s sassiness, and their scorching sex. I didn’t like seeing them hurting but they—or rather Emme—needed a push to realize all they had. She was buried in her past and the pain from failed relationships, and she was happy with the way things were going in her life. Emme had the perfect guy and the perfect job. What could she be missing? It only took one moment for her to realize everything wasn’t as perfect as she thought, and another moment of clarity for Emme to see that she could have it all if she would just let that pain go enough to open her heart to the love that she already had for Axel.

In regard to Axel, I completely understood his frustration. He tried fighting for Emme, but she just wasn’t willing to budge. Maybe Axel wouldn’t have been so quick to pull away from her if she’d shared more about her past. In Clickbait, we know Emme hadn’t mentioned her experience with Declan. And it didn’t sound like he knew anything about it in this book either. I’m sure eventually she’d tell him, but I wanted to witness Emme revealing more of herself to Axel. I wanted those more in depth conversations. I feel like we just scratched the surface with these two.

My biggest complaint is that I wanted more. I wanted to see the “surprise” at the end through. Axel and Emme were so sweet together that I wanted to witness the rest of their story. Maybe we’ll get to revisit them in a novella or during Carson’s story.

As a side note, this is the second book in this series. It can be read as a standalone, but you’ll meet and have a bit more background in regard to all of the characters if you read Clickbait first.

PURCHASE TODAY

FREE ON KINDLE UNLIMITED

 

Blurb

Emme Ford loves her job as a bar promoter. She runs in the same circles as musicians and socialites, getting paid to party with them. She’s content with life just the way it is, and she has no interest in marriage, kids, or growing up. But what happens when the party’s over?

Axel Jones wants to marry Emme, but she denied his proposal. They both pretend it didn’t affect their relationship, but it did. A wedge divides them, and now they’re stuck in a stalemate. What do you do when one person wants more and the other doesn’t?

Add to your TBR: http://bit.ly/2mhpLPB
 

Excerpt

“I just wanted to come here to talk.” He finally looks up at me and tugs on his hair again before running a hand over his beard. “I’m frustrated, Emme.”

“I know you are,” I say softly. “But I’ve made it clear what I need.”

“Yes, you have, but what about what I need?”

He’s right, and I know that. He’s got needs that are different from mine, and his aren’t being met in this relationship.

I don’t answer, because I don’t actually have an answer for that.

“We’re stuck, Ems. We’re at an impasse. A stalemate. What do you do when only one person wants more?”

“You wait.” My voice comes out with more vehemence than I intend, and I suppose that’s maybe the first real sign of emotion Axel’s heard from me in a while.

“What if I don’t want to wait?”

I glance away from him, because something deep in my heart knew where this was leading. “Then we have some decisions to make, I guess.” I say it softly because it’s not what I want. I don’t want to end things with Axel.

“I think we do.” His voice is quiet, too.

 

READ CLICKBAIT TODAY!

Purchase Today

#Free on #KindleUnlimited
 
 
Purchase a Signed Paperback: http://bit.ly/2kWmzER
 

About Lisa Suzanne

 
Lisa Suzanne is a romance author who resides in Arizona with her husband and baby boy. She’s a part-time college instructor and former high school English teacher. When she’s not cuddling baby Mason, she can be found working on her latest book or watching reruns of Friends.  
 
 

Follow Lisa Suzanne

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

Leave a Reply

