Damaged Love – Release, Review, & Giveaway

damaged-love_ecover

Cover Design: Juliana Cabrera/Jersey Girl & Co.

Release Date: January 25, 2017

BUY NOW for only 99 Cents!

Amazon ~ http://amzn.to/2jdZnjZ

Kobo ~ http://bit.ly/2k13LY5

Synopsis

True love never dies . . . but some lies are impossible to forget.

Jet

Nothing worth having in life is simple. No truer words have ever been spoken.

At the age of nineteen, I knew exactly what I wanted out of life, but everything changed after a chance encounter with a woman I couldn’t get out of my head, one that left me wanting more. What I felt for her was unforgettable; no matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t purge her from my mind. She became my weakness . . . my everything. Little did I know our lives were on a predetermined course, leading us toward certain destruction.

They say love can be blinding, and I unknowingly walked straight into the blazing light.

Rachel

Jet was never meant to be mine, but for a short period of time, he helped me forget the anguish that had always been my constant companion. I allowed myself to feel happiness, to get comfortable, to be free of the nightmare that was my reality. But, when you’re harboring a secret, it’s only a matter a time before the truth is unveiled.

20093-add-to-goodreads-button31

My Review

I’ve always loved second chance romances, but what makes this one so special is the fact that we get it all. The author shows us the relationship that Jet and Rachel developed as kids and then jumps forward to their second chance at love. I like that we see everything as it happens instead of jumping back in time or reading their internal monologue to learn about their past. In addition to the love story, we get a little bit of espionage, suspense, and family drama.

As I started reading Jet and Rachel’s story, I was a bit concerned that this was going to be a young adult romance with immature characters. However, that couldn’t have been further from the truth. Jet and Rachel showed a maturity that only exists because of the way they were raised. Jet came from a single parent home where he was shown love, encouragement, and respect, which made him caring, considerate, and respectful toward others. I’m glad the author gave him such strength of character instead of making him cocky and careless. And since his father had money, he also had to worry about how others treated him and if he could trust them enough to let them in. One of my biggest fears, since we weren’t getting Rachel’s POV in the beginning, was whether or not Jet’s trust in her was misplaced. I had the worst sense of foreboding, due to the little hints being dropped by the author, that their relationship was about to implode.

Rachel, in contrast, was forced to grow up at a young age in order to become a parent to her own mother and deal with the men in her life. She didn’t have the same advantages that Jet had. However, Rachel made it a point to focus on the memories of the good times, and she didn’t let her struggles affect her relationship with Jet. She was a strong and determined woman. And while I was distrustful of her in the beginning, I came to love Rachel.

In terms of their relationship, I loved how it slowly progressed in the beginning. They took their time, unlike most teens their age, getting to know each other before moving forward with intimacy. You can tell that Jet is both respectful of Rachel as well as cautious in trusting her. Yet he loved her with everything he had. I was heartbroken for them both when their relationship fell apart. I enjoyed watching them come back together and rebuild their lives based on the love they still had for each other. I also loved how Rachel found her place in this world and wouldn’t change the way she lived her life for Jet. His acceptance of her just showed me once again how much he respected and loved her.

16244345_10211986516205109_1340176831_n

 

Giveaway

$15 Amazon Gift Card

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Direct Link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/0cba4250424/?

 

16216197_10211986519325187_1461210601_n

damaged-love_full

 

About the Author

Riann C. Miller lives in southeast Kansas and writes steamy contemporary romance stories. When she’s not reading or writing, she spends time with her friends and family or you might catch her watching a baseball game with a beer in her hand.
Riann who pronounces her name (Ry-an) also preoccupies a lot of her time on social media connecting with readers.

Connect with Riann C. Miller

Newsletter Sign Up: http://bit.ly/2j5P45q

Facebook Author Page: http://bit.ly/2ie9nt7

Facebook Reader Group: http://bit.ly/2j5ZhyY

Goodreads Author Page: http://bit.ly/2jgUurF

Twitter: http://bit.ly/2igXFRy

Instagram: http://bit.ly/2jgXuV9

Amazon Author Page: http://amzn.to/2iZKhjE

cropped-SSFprLogo3.png

 

pro_reader

Leave a Reply

