Dear Life by Meghan Quinn Release & Review

SBPR-DEARLIFE-RB.jpg

Dear Life by Meghan Quinn
Publication Date: January 5, 2017
Genre: Contemporary Romance

DearLifeFinal.jpg

Synopsis:

Four lives. Four stories. Four sets of letters. Four brave souls in need of guidance while facing life’s greatest challenges.

The anonymously published Dear Life program is designed to help them step outside of their comfort zones, face their obstacles, and relinquish their demons…and prove their existence.

With their lives teetering between wanting more and losing it all, all four souls dive into the program as a New Year’s resolution, sending them on a crazy, life-altering journey.

Dear Life,

Please be kind.

Yours truly, Hollyn, Jace, Daisy, and Carter.

dear life teaser.jpg

Add to Goodreads

My Review:

Meghan Quinn is a new-to-me author, and I love her! I devoured this book and couldn’t put it down until I finished reading every last word. She has a talent for drawing you into the lives of her characters and conveying their emotions in a way that will have you wanting to cry, laugh, and love along with them.

As you see in the synopsis, Dear Life follows the lives of four different people trying to find their way to living. I know that sounds generic, but it’s pretty simple. These four lost souls have found themselves in a dark or lonely place that seems to have no light until they meet at Dear Life, which is a support group/self-help workshop. I loved this concept. It was a unique way to send us on each persons journey through their experiences, personal turmoil, and finding acceptance, friendship, and love. I especially liked the letters they wrote to “Life” at the end of each chapter.

The prologue gives you glimpses into past moments that had an impact on the characters’ life. And each one had me immensely curious as to where their journeys would take them. Dear Life was an emotional roller coaster ride. It was an inspirational story about loss, finding your way back to living, and teaching you how to love against all odds.

Before I jump into my thoughts on each character, I have to say that I loved this foursome. They were quite different in their personalities and experiences and gave the group balance and unique insights into helping each other.

Hollyn’s despair broke me. I couldn’t help but cry with her as she grieved for what she’d lost. I wanted to curl up on my bed and cry for her. That’s how palpable her pain was. I enjoyed watching her heal through helping others even though she needed a little kick in the butt every now and then. Jace was definitely her salvation and way back to living.

Jace had my heart from the start. He was completely down to earth, loving, and selfless, all of which I found rare since he was a professional baseball player. And because of this, I felt his devastation even more so than Hollyn’s. I was in tears every time I read his POV or dialogue with other characters. His story was both heartbreaking and full of hope. I loved how his story ends.

Daisy was completely hopeless. I felt uncomfortable on her behalf. What must it have been like to be so completely sheltered and out of touch with the modern world? Amanda should have definitely been doing more to help her in the beginning. I guess in her own way by pushing Daisy towards Dear Life, Amanda was allowing Daisy to find her way out of her shy and lonely world on her own. And once Daisy found that strong and determined woman, I was cheering her on.

Carter, Carter, Carter… Where do I start? Through most of the book I wanted to yell at him just as much as Hollyn did. He was such a jerk. I couldn’t decide if I loved him or hated him. He had so much anger built up that he didn’t know how to not be irritating and cross. That is except where Daisy was concerned. She just brought out the caring and tender side in him. Don’t you love it when the dark and brooding man can’t help but want to make the shy and timid girl smile. Sigh… I think in the end Carter ended up being my favorite.

This was a beautiful story that I hope you’ll take a chance on. Make sure you get some tissues and find a nice quiet place to shut out the world. You’re going to want to immerse yourself in this one.

AN-Dear-Life.jpg

Purchase Links:


Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2hPvSsU
Amazon UK: http://tinyurl.com/jlqyohr
FREE ON KINDLE UNLIMITED

About the Author:

A BLONDE AT HEART

Born in New York and raised in Southern California, Meghan has grown into a sassy, peanut butter eating, blonde haired swearing, animal hoarding lady. She is known to bust out and dance if “It’s Raining Men” starts beating through the air and heaven forbid you get a margarita in her, protect your legs because they may be humped.

Once she started commuting for an hour and twenty minutes every day to work for three years, she began to have conversations play in her head, real life, deep male voices and dainty lady coos kind of conversations. Perturbed and confused, she decided to either see a therapist about the hot and steamy voices running through her head or start writing them down. She decided to go with the cheaper option and started writing… enter her first novel, Caught Looking.

Now you can find the spicy, most definitely on the border of lunacy, kind of crazy lady residing in Colorado with the love of her life and her five, furry four legged children, hiking a trail or hiding behind shelves at grocery stores, wondering what kind of lube the nervous stranger will bring home to his wife. Oh and she loves a good boob squeeze!

Connect with Meghan:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pg/meghanquinnauthor
Instagram: authormeghanquinn
Website: http://www.authormeghanquinn.com/

Leave a Reply

