Review – Detoured by Love by Michelle Lynn

detoured-by-love

synopsis

Bryant Garrity isn’t irresistible.

His lengthy resume of Heisman Trophy winner, number one draft pick and highest paid player isn’t all that impressive. The fact his chiseled jaw and mesmerizing blue eyes have probably made him Mr. Popularity from the age of five isn’t going to work on me. Not when I have goals—goals that don’t include finding myself on an all pro-football heartthrobs checklist.

Carly Lincoln is different.

I could go on and on about her dark wavy curls, her pouty pink lips, or her whiskey-on-the-rock eyes that reveal her truest desires. The fact she’s not impressed by my sports superstar aura like most women makes her worth more than a fling. But this year is my last shot at glory after crumbling to a mere mortal on the game’s biggest stage. My focus needs to be on the ring, not turning Carly’s no’s to yes’s.

Carly and Bryant’s paths are about to collide, and they better be prepared to fight for what matters most because life’s paths aren’t all sunshine and winding roads.

my-review

This was my first book by Michelle Lynn, and I look forward to reading more! She has a wonderful ability to draw you into the story line and lives of her characters. Bryant and Carly are amazing people. Their personalities and histories are well developed and believable. Bryant, while an NFL quarterback, isn’t as cocky and egotistical as you’d think. He’s actually quite down to earth, fun, and sweet. Carly is a strong and independent woman, who, while maybe a little irritated with her meddling family, loves them dearly.

I absolutely adored everything about Bryant and Carly’s love story—their meeting and falling in love, the boulder that lands in their path, and their HEA. I was pleased with the way their story unfolded so organically. They didn’t rush into anything hastily but took their time discovering each other. I felt every emotion as if I was experiencing them within my own relationship. I laughed, loved, and cried along with Bryant and Carly. I enjoyed their playful banter and teenage-like giddiness in those first weeks of falling in love. I also loved their family and friends who were in their corners encouraging them through the good and supporting them during the bad.

I’m a sucker for books like this one. Not being a fan of angsty drama that tears a couple apart, it was refreshing to read of real life concerns and stress without the often seen contrived plot lines with misunderstandings or immaturity. Carly’s detour from her life plan was heartbreaking. Her reevaluation of her life and the growth she experienced through dealing with this roadblock led to healing her heart and reconciling her beliefs in her mind. Bryant also has struggles of his own when it comes to loving Carly and being able to give her the life she deserves while being an NFL quarterback.

Detoured by Love will definitely be a story that sticks with me!

BUY IT NOW!

kindleibooksnookkobogoogle

 

Leave a Reply

