The Mechanic by Vanessa Waltz

 

The Mechanic

Available in: Kindle (99 cents or Free with KU)

Published: August 6, 2016

SYNOPSIS

Marriage and kids with him? You must be joking.
Olivia
Gage Carter is the poster boy for rude, rugged, and obnoxious. He’s the town’s mechanic. When he’s not giving me a hard time about my car, he’s mocking my city girl ways.

He’s a small town roughneck with a dirty reputation and a mouth to match. I’m a city girl. We go together like champagne and whiskey.

People told me he was trouble. But that didn’t stop me from craving his filthy promises that make my blood pound for hours. Or having full body shivers whenever he says my name.

This joy ride’s gone too far. Now we’re married—by accident—no less. The town’s most ineligible bachelor is my husband.

Oh, and I’m pregnant.
——
Gage
The last thing I need is a wife…

Especially a high-maintenance one like Olivia Stewart. I’ve got no patience for a demanding, feisty city girl who thinks she can walk into my business and order me around.

But now that I’ve tasted her, I can’t get her out of my mind. She may be a burr in my side but she’s as sweet as honey. When she’s not driving me crazy, she’s driving me wild.

One problem: Some puffed-up rich boy from San Francisco thinks she’s his, and he’ll make my life hell if I don’t give her up.

Good luck with that. I can’t be bought, and I’m not giving up my wife and baby.

He wants a fight? This means war.

MY REVIEW

I first got hooked on Vanessa’s books through her darker mafia series, but I have to say, I love this softer, romantic, yet still erotic, side of her. With this book, she introduces us to Gage and Olivia. Gage seems to be this emotionally hard and indestructible man, but underneath it all he’s longing for a woman who will accept him for the small town, mechanic that he is. Olivia, though she doesn’t really know it, is a lost city girl looking for a place where she belongs and is loved. When these two are confronted with each other, I felt their world stop for just a moment to praise itself for guiding fate’s hand. It may not have been poetic, but I was breathless just the same. From that point on, I was hooked! Gage and Olivia are such passionate people! Vanessa has a wonderful way of verbalizing their intimacy. I felt their anticipation, driving need, and possession. I could almost feel every caress, lick, and thrust. I was a hot, breathless, pulse racing mess when these two were together. And I felt a little broken when they were apart.

Vanessa did an excellent job with the dialogue and character development, descriptions, and emotions. I felt like I was going through all of this with Gage and Olivia! I felt their passion, longing, anger, hurt, happiness, and love. I thoroughly enjoyed Gage’s dirty talk and bluntness and their playful banter. And it’s always great to read both points of view. You can tell that they had this strong dislike of each other from the start, but there is also this protectiveness over the other. This comes out when they are confronted with Mark, Olivia’s ex-fiancé, who, I must say, made the perfect villain along with his entitled mother. I loved this small town and the quiet, laid back, all-for-one atmosphere. It was the perfect place to stand up to the Cranburys. I can’t wait to read the next Fair Oaks book!

THE AUTHOR

Vanessa Waltz

Vanessa Waltz is a twenty-something year old from the Bay Area. She lives with two cats, loves karaoke, and is a fine connoisseur of craft beer.

She lives to write romances with serious heat with possessive, alphahole heroes. If you like bad boys, you’ll love her books! You can drop her a line at waltzbooks@gmail.com. Join her newsletter here for discounts, information on new releases, and more!

Leave a Reply

